Diverse Books Tag

Here’s my Diverse Books Tag, hope you enjoy it and discover something new πŸ™‚

Find a book starring a lesbian character.

udala
Under the Udala Trees is the debut novel by Chinelo Okparanta

I haven’t actually read a book starring a lesbian character before, but this book has been on my TBR for a while now. Set in Nigeria, it is a coming of age story that runs parallel to the birth of a nation, examining identity, selfhood and hope.

Find a book with a Muslim protagonist.

Jasmie Falling is a debut novel by Shereen Malherbe
Jasmie Falling is the debut novel by Shereen Malherbe

So I will be posting up aΒ  review of this book soon, but I really recommend reading this book for a nuanced and genuine representation of the complexities of muslim womanhoodΒ  in the diaspora and life in the Middle east. You know the book is going to be interesting when mainstream publishers turn it down for lack of ‘authenticity!’ Click here for more info on Jasmine Falling.

Find a book set in Latin America.

By Isabel Allende
By Isabel Allende

Set in Chile, this book is the epic story of the Trueba’s told from a female perspective. Old and beautifully crafted.

 

Find a book about a person with a disability.

el deafo
By Cece Bell

El Deafo is a childrens book that my daughter was so moved by she insisted I read it! Based on the authors own experience as growing up hearing impaired it is a lovely and moving story for adults and children alike. You can read my daughters review here! πŸ™‚

Find a Science-Fiction or Fantasy book withΒ a POC protagonist.

by Tosin Coker
by Tosin Coker

If your’e not familiar with the term Afrofuturism you should be! I’m not a Sci Fan, but this amazing discussion at the BareLit festival was more than enough to spark my interest! Check out this panel featuring the author.

 

 

Find a book set in (or about) any country in Africa.

A collection edited by Ellah Wakatama Allfrey
A collection edited by Ellah Wakatama Allfrey

I decided to opt for a book that samples a range of talent from across the continent.Β  More to come on this soon! πŸ™‚

 

Find a book written by an Indigenous or Native author (use tribal names if possible).

by Tim Tingle
by Tim Tingle

Again this is another book for both children and adults exploring the often overlooked convergence of Native American and slave stories. Beautiful and understated.

 

Find a book set in South Asia (Afghanistan, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, etc.).

by Samanth Subramanian
by Samanth Subramanian

I read a LOT of of books from/about this region so it was quite hard to pick one! I opted for This Divided Island, because it is a poignant and powerful exploration of prolonged conflict and what humans are capable of doing to each other

 

Find a book with a biracial protagonist.

2815261
by Matt de la Pena

This one was suprisingly hard. Apart from Jasmine Falling which I already listed above, I couldnt think of a book Ive read recently with a mixed race character.Β  So my mate Google suggested this! Mexican Whiteboy is a story about ‘acceptance and the struggle to find your identity’.

 

 

Find a book starring a transgender character or about transgender issues.

 

18144031
by Janet Mock

This book is a personal story about life, transition and hope.

 

Thanks to Naz for this tag, this is honestly one of the best tags I’veΒ  seen and has really challenged me to explore more genres. πŸ™‚


 

17 comments

  1. Really interesting to see what is being written for kids! I haven’t read House of the Spirits in so long but I absolutely loved it – I’m very tempted to a re-read. Jasmine Falling sounds interesting, I look forward to your review πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m tempted to a re-read too actually! I go out of my way to find ‘diverse’ books my kids and often enjoy them myself as I only read books about people called fanny and dick or kids playing lacrosse in boarding schools growing up! Thanks for the comment, hopefully i’ll have a review up soon! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I love this tag and everyone’s fill, though it is so tough on my tbr πŸ˜€ I added basically all the books to my gr list and I love afrofuturism and hadn’t heard of this one, will have to track down a copy. Also reative nonfictions, I am so intrigued by that one!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

