BareLit 2016!

Last weekend I was fortunate enough to help out at the Inaugural BareLit festival 2016. Dedicated to giving BAME writers the much needed platform and publicity so often denied to them by ‘mainstream’ publishing houses and festivals, BareLit felt inspiriting and long overdue. Creating an inclusive space and opportunity to engage with BAME writers (for longer than a five minute slot) has been requisitioned by readers and writers alike, and now that the call has finally been answered by the brilliant folk at Media Diversified, I can tell you that the result was phenomenal. I think it’s fair to say that the festival far exceeded everyone’s expectations! Atmospheric and energising, people were buzzing with excitement and a thrilled Radhika Swarup (the author of the brilliant ‘Where the Rivers Part’) approached me after her Panel gushing about the engaging questions, audience and speakers. And it was so much more than that too. BareLit created a safe and welcoming environment that POC so rarely have access to in the quotidian. For once, I was not the only brown hijabi woman in the room (as I so often am at literary events), broached with the surprised lines of ‘oh, so what brings you here?’ but just another member of the bookish crowd, geeking out to authors and subjects that matter to me. This was in sharp contrast to Radhika’s book launch which I attended the week before which although brilliant and filled with brown women took a sour note when I was congratulated by an audience member for ‘nailing the English accent’ among other things! (Post on this to follow soon!)

Sareeta Domingo and Leila Aboulela ( I edited myself out of this selfie as I looked like their child!!)
Sareeta Domingo and Leila Aboulela ( I edited myself out of this selfie as I looked like their child!!)

For me, the success of Barelit has been multifaceted; it has created a model for literary festivals that others would do well to emulate, raising lots of important issues and introducing me to some brilliant new writers. The ‘Poets In Exile’ talk was particularly insightful, chaired by Malika Booker, the panel was wonderful with brilliant, relevant poetry recited by Dean Atta and Khairani Barokka which has reignited my passion for poetry.

IMG_5132
The lovely and hugely talented Khairani Barokka whom it was an absolute pleasure to meet!

Malika Booker raised a crucial point about diversity extending to all measures of the literary world and likened the lack of BAME reviewers to throwing a stone in a river. If it creates no ripples it just sinks. If book reviewers of colour are not afforded a space to react to and promote such work, it can often fall through the gaps or runs the risk of being stereotyped and pigeonholed. Prime examples of this can be seen when BAME poets like Booker or Selina Nwulu who excel at their craft are referred to as ‘spoken word artists’ or when as mentioned by Naomi Frisby here, Swarup’s book is described as evoking the ‘smell of tumeric’. Blanket homogenising statements mean that the nuance and actual real and interesting content of the work of POC so often go overlooked.

The hope for the publishing industry!
The hope for the publishing industry!

Other fascinating events included ‘What does Liberation in Literature look like?’ and (Re) writing Pasts and Futures’

IMG_5127
The fab panel of (Re)writing Pasts and Futures- Zen Cho, Tendai Huchu, Tosin Coker and Haris Durrani

If you missed it, I strongly recommended you check out the full line up here, if you attended, I know you’ll be there next year and in the meantime let’s all get together, support and donate to make this vital and much needed literary festival a fixture.

 

The BareLit team and volunteers (including me looking a little sheepish in the middle!)
The BareLit team and volunteers (including me looking a little sheepish in the middle!)

28 comments

  1. Great post. I completely agree that it was so energising and absolutely brilliant to see so many writers of colour given the space to discuss their work.

    I’m appalled (but no longer surprised) at the comment you mention at another event about ‘nailing the English accent’. I’ll be interested to read your post on that.

    It was lovely to meet you last week and thanks for the link to my post. Roll on Bare Lit 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I followed it all on Twitter! It was such a beautiful thing to watch. I only became aware of it the week it was promoted by Writers of Color, as I had recently joined Twitter. Now, I have tons of new writers to explore and follow.
    I’ll be sure to follow next year’s event even more closely!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I was so excited when I heard about BareLit! Sad I couldn’t manage to be there in person, so thank you for the post and the photos. Sounds like it was everybit as good as hoped and hopefully we’ll be seeing more of such festivals (and more BAEM writers being given platforms in other festivals too)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

